The Ehrensvärd Museum is located on the original central courtyard of the fortress in the Commander’s House. The first occupant of the building was Augustin Ehrensvärd (1710-1772), the founder of the Suomenlinna fortress. The Ehrensvärd Museum’s collection includes paintings, furniture, weapons and ship models.
The Commander’s House is a good example of how housing and the defensive system were connected under the same roof. The building’s side wings also functioned as fortification bastions and it was possible to access the bastion terrepleins directly from the rooms. In case of an emergency the windows of the dining room as well as of the sleeping alcove could be used as crenels from which the main entrance to the fortress, the Artillery Bay, could be defended. The building was used as a residence until 1855, when it lost its southern wing in the Crimean War.
In 1927 the Ehrensvärd Society made an initiative to establish a museum in those rooms, that had been used as Ehrensvärd ‘s residence. The museum was opened in 1930.
Museum is open during summer 2022:
7.5. – 31.8.2022 daily and in September weekends
May at 10 -16
June – August at 10:30 – 13:00 and 13:30 – 17:30
September Sat and Sun at 10 -16
Tickets to the museum
Entrance: adults 5,00 euros and children 2,00 euros
Free entrance with Helsinki Card and Museum Card
Visit the Ehrensvärd Museum during the winter season
Groups can make reservations for the museum also during wintertime. During a guided tour in the museum groups can hear about the fascinating history of Augustin Ehrensvärd and the 18th Century at the fortress.